You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
{{ message }}
This repository was archived by the owner on Jan 23, 2023. It is now read-only.
Repository navigation
This repository was archived by the owner on Jan 23, 2023. It is now read-only.
Describe the bug
If "reply to tweet" button is pressed but the tweet is not sent, it's not possible to cancel reply to that tweet. If "reply to tweet" window is closed and regular "compose tweet" button is pressed, the tweet for which "reply to" button was pressed is shown. This behavior persists even after restarting the program.
To Reproduce
Steps to reproduce the behavior:
Press "reply to tweet" button on any tweet in the timeline
Close the window without writing the tweet
Try to compose new tweet, without mentioning "reply to" tweet.
Expected behavior
Compose new tweet window does not show "reply to" tweet.
This is intentional to 1) keep tweet content in case it fails to send (network errors etc) and 2) allow you to keep a draft tweet. We store it in the database, hence why it persists beyond restarts.
If you don't want the draft, delete the content and it will also forget the tweet that you're replying to.
Actually, Twitter does also keep drafts of an written reply or tweet, just only inside the scope it would be placed in.
That might be something we could do?
It would increase complexity, and of course we need to ask our self to which extend we keep drafts (one tweet and one reply maybe?).
If you don't want the draft, delete the content and it will also forget the tweet that you're replying to.
Oh thanks, indeed, but that's not intuitive at all. Could it be better to make explicit "clear" button to remove reply to post from the compose interface?
I think that would still be a bit messy. And if you have to annotate your UI like that then it's a good sign that something is wrong with your usability.
Activity
IBBoard commentedon Mar 21, 2021
This is intentional to 1) keep tweet content in case it fails to send (network errors etc) and 2) allow you to keep a draft tweet. We store it in the database, hence why it persists beyond restarts.
If you don't want the draft, delete the content and it will also forget the tweet that you're replying to.
CodedOre commentedon Mar 21, 2021
Actually, Twitter does also keep drafts of an written reply or tweet, just only inside the scope it would be placed in.
That might be something we could do?
It would increase complexity, and of course we need to ask our self to which extend we keep drafts (one tweet and one reply maybe?).
ValdikSS commentedon Mar 21, 2021
Oh thanks, indeed, but that's not intuitive at all. Could it be better to make explicit "clear" button to remove reply to post from the compose interface?
IBBoard commentedon Mar 21, 2021
"I don't want this, therefore I will delete it" seemed reasonably intuitive. Maybe it would be clearer if it was "Close" rather than "Cancel".
I'm not sure we could do a "Clear" button without it cluttering up the UI.
The other options are:
I hadn't implemented either because it felt like most people wouldn't leave half a tweet unless they wanted to keep it.
ValdikSS commentedon Mar 21, 2021
"Remove the text to clear the draft" fine print somewhere near text field is fine too.
IBBoard commentedon Mar 22, 2021
I think that would still be a bit messy. And if you have to annotate your UI like that then it's a good sign that something is wrong with your usability.